Skip to content

I Will Never Rust

November 29, 2013

Secrets I have held in my heart
Are harder to hide than I thought
Maybe I just wanna be yours
I wanna be yours

This blog is, and has always been, partial to Arctic Monkeys and their wonderful music. No matter how I feel, a song from them will always bring me in the right mood – if  I want to relax and listen to some nice music, they’re there. If I’m sad and heartbroken, they’re there. If I’m in love and super happy, they’re there. If I want to party and get pumped up – they’re there. They’re always there. I believe I heard their first album sometime during Christmas 2005, recommended by my best friend who got me their CD. I can’t thank her enough. I would probably have found it anyway sooner or later, but I found them then and I have always appreciated this.

It’s weird to see them expand, evolve and change as much as they have. I have followed them faithfully through all their albums, and while I have never strived to like them “because I like them”, I have always enjoyed their new turns, and I find this as a sign that AM really must be “my” band. It’s not often you like all “versions” of a band, but if you, I believe that means that you’re meant to be. What is so strange now, however, is to see them being plastered all over tumblr, going from a couple of hundred notes tops to like 100k. As always with something you discovered early you think “ugh get off I’ve liked them longer than you have!!!” which is the stupidest sentiment in the world, because I have always advocated for them and wanted them to be known, so I should be pleased now, right? But then I’m not, really. Or of course I am, but I am hard-pressed to believe that the people who dig Do I Wanna Know? and R U Mine? even recognise that they’re by the same band as the 2006 hits When The Sun Goes Down and I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor. And of course this is no prerequisite for enjoying a band, and I also acknowledge that they’ve developed so much that they hardly seem to be the same band, and the parallells are quite easily missed unless you’re looking for them.

I’m not sure where I’m going with this – it sounds like the typical, whiny “I knew them first and they’re mine so who are you to say that you like them!!!!” but I can assure that this is not what I was going for! I just reflected over my history with them and I’m glad we go way back, because they have meant so incredibly much to me. But I am also thrilled that they still, after almost nine years, still attract new fans and listeners, contuinuing to play their way into people’s hearts. That’s a feat that I’m incredibly happy for them about – and of course, if you, dear reader, have not discovered the miracle of Arctic Monkeys, I strongly recommend them to you now! Haha.

I also want to note that SisMid has finally peaked 10,000 views! Yay! I can hardly believe it. Well, of course, it’s been a slow, but steady progress that has gone on for years, so I guess it’s not that strange. But it still means that this blog has been viewed more than 10,000 times, and while I probably stand for a good part of those views, I still don’t think I can take credit for all 10,000. So thank you all who have visited once or several times through the years! It’s not what it once was, but I love that it still exists and is available for me (and those of you who should be interested for some strange reason), and thus provides me with a bunch of memories and thoughts that I probably would’ve forgotten otherwise.

[Song: I Wanna Be Yours | Artist: Arctic Monkeys]

No comments yet

Leave a comment