Skip to content

Caligula Would Have Blushed

December 26, 2013

In my life 
Why do I give valuable time 
To people who don’t care if I
Live or die

There is nothing more satisfying, at times, than to cancel any plans to go out and just stay at home. Some days are exhausting – it doesn’t have to be that you’ve been at work all day (which is very exhausting), or at school (also exhausting), because sometimes you just have one of those days where nothing is quite right and everything is a bit wonky and you just want to be by yourself and not see anyone.

There is a wonderful satisfaction in “getting away with” being alone. Today it seems like being sick is the only excuse you can have for wanting (…or then, needing) the be alone. Is there no room for actually wanting to do nothing, not be social? Seriously, I swear that it seems like the weirdest thing in the world to stay at home and do nothing, because hey, it’s Friday/Saturday/day before day off/something, whatever. It doesn’t have to be like that, you can stay at home and do nothing even if you’ve been invited to lots of things.

However, it’s very important to remember that doing things is super important. Often I feel a little under the weather, but then I push myself to go and do something with some friends, and it really brightens my mood and makes the day super awesome instead. It’s possible! I don’t think I’ve ever really regretted doing something, because all those times I push myself to go out it always feel worth it – at least for the time spent with friends.

I guess you can say that balance is key here, because while pushing yourself can really help – but pushing yourself too much won’t help neither you nor your friends, and might push you over the exhaust-edge. So, you know, be careful to search your true feelings before deciding on staying in – or going out.

(When this blog became some kind of self-help-centre I don’t know, but I’ll note in and work at it in the future. Haha.)

[Song: Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now | Artist: The Smiths]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

